The Heart

by Jimmy Pruitt

cute-girl-heart-love-nature-Favim.com-129265_large

“Cultivate the greatest confidence that, though you cannot see into your heart, God is working there by His Holy Spirit.” – A Murray

I woke up early this morning thinking about my heart. Is it good? Is it “desperately wicked?” On occasion it is beneficial to stop and take stock of your heart. Apart from Christ’s finished work I can only surmise that my heart is incomplete, not yet finished, under construction, a work in progress.

As I opened Andrew Murray’s book, Waiting on God (Day 9), this morning, I read the aforementioned quote and I can only trust, by faith, that God is indeed working on my heart. It is beyond what I can wrap my intellect around, of which I tend to lean. Therefore, I will throw my heart open before the divine cardiac physician and say, “Do what you must!”

Quieting my mind and resting my heart, I trust in this truth, God is working both on and in my heart; shaping, strengthening, cleansing and renewing until it barely resembles it’s former state.

Be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart, all you who hope in the Lord. Psalm 31:24

