You Are Here

by Jimmy Pruitt

alone_by_buaiansayapanomali

I am no stranger to spiritual, directional and emotional vertigo. There are days and seasons when I don’t know which way is up or what to do next. If you are in that place, you are in good company. King David, the man after God’s heart, was familiar with that which is unfamiliar.

His solution was to cry out and to hold nothing back from God that which was in his heart. Whether it was from the depths of despair or the pinnacle of victory, David was honest before God by laying open his heart. A cursory reading of the Psalms reveals a man whose heart fully trusted God’s reaction to his transparency.

Religion would caution you to exercise restraint, don’t say too much and be careful with your emotions. Relationship would say let it all hang out, God has big shoulders and you can trust His response to your current state. The purest worship will be birthed out of the clearest heart.

Show me me the path where I should walk, O Lord; point out the right road for me to follow. Lead me by your truth and teach me, for you are the God who saves me. All day long I put my hope in you. Ps 25:4-5

