Courage in the Ordinary

by Jimmy Pruitt

courage1_edit

Unschooled. Ordinary. Courageous. Three descriptive words that help us understand that it was Jesus working through these newly empowered followers. It wasn’t about their talents, wisdom, good looks or social status. It was clearly Jesus himself working through them to begin a revolution that continues today.

In spite of being unschooled and ordinary they were courageous because they finally understood that Jesus was doing the work and they were getting in on what He was already doing. That’s one of the great keys to being a fruit bearing believer: to see what He is up to, get in alignment and join Him in His work. No pressure on us. We get the privilege of participating in changing lives and making a difference.

I cannot stress enough how much I appreciate that God uses the unschooled and ordinary to fulfill His will and purposes in the earth. Don’t get me wrong. There is nothing wrong with having an education. I have more than one degree hanging on my wall, figuratively or course. All my worldly goods are in a storage unit at this time. But I digress. The point being that God can and does use everyone and anyone who will make themselves available.

Today, I’m seeking to walk close enough to Him that I will be sensitive and ready when those little moments come along; aware of opportunities to exhibit the love, mercy and grace of God, be it large or small, earth shattering or minute.

When they saw the courage of Peter and John and realized that they were unschooled, ordinary men, they were astonished and they took note that these men had been with Jesus. Acts 4:13 NIV

